Writing Update 6/28/12

Right now it is close to 100 degrees in Orland Park and it is raining.  Time to stay inside and write.

My editor at Echelon Press, Karen Syed, has returned my manuscript of “The Enchanted Bean” with the corrections she would like me to make.  Thankfully she gave me a handy editorial guide and her critique on my writing brought up some good points.  Of course, I am just happy she did not change her mind altogether about accepting my story!  I have started going over the manuscript and hope to have a new draft sent to her soon.

I am finding it difficult to start new stories or finish old ones.  Along with double posting at Alternate History Weekly Update, I am also training for the Beach Dash.  A 5K obstacle course, I am going to be running in it with my family on July 14.  It will be tough, but after losing 40 lbs since 2010, it is time I start toning up.  I plan to be alive for a long time so I can bug my friends and family to read my most recent finished manuscript.

Speaking of writing, I just picked up On Writing by Stephen King.  James Gunn was interviewed on the Nerdist Podcast and said that he learned a lot about writing from King and since I have been a fan for several years I decided to buy the e-book.  An excellent, if short, book with tales from his own life to show what helped and what did not help him in his writing.  I hope to do a short review of it on this blog when I finish.

One thing I was pleased to learn was that King had grown up watching the same science fiction/horror films as a kid…that I watched get skewered on Mystery Science Theater 3000.  Funny how movies that mesmerized us as children became laughable as the decades came and went.  I just hope I do not see some of my favorites get torn apart by the next generation of riffers.

The sun is now out and yet it is still raining.  I love sun storms.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About mattmitrovich

Matt Mitrovich is the founder and editor of Alternate History Weekly Update, volunteer editor for Alt Hist magazine and, starting in 2013, blogger for the relaunch of Amazing Stories. His fiction can be found at Echelon Press, Jake's Monthly and The Were-Traveler. When not writing he works as an attorney, enjoys life with his beautiful wife Alana and prepares for the inevitable zombie apocalypse. You can follow him on Facebook or Twitter (@MattMitrovich).

Leave a Reply

